The Si-QuBus consortium

The European Si-QuBus consortium has started its work in April 2018. It consists of six partners working tightly together in order to realize a QuBus in silicon. The six principal investigators and groups are:

• Coordinator: Lars Schreiber (RWTH Aachen, University, DE)
Lieven Vandersypen (Delft University of Technology, NL)
Tristan Meunier (INSTITUT NEEL – CNRS, FR)
Sylvain Barraud (Commissariat à l’Energie Atomique et aux Energies Alternatives, FR)
Łukasz Cywiński (Institute of Physics, Polish Academy of Sciences, PL)
David DiVincenzo (Forschungszentrum Jülich, DE) 

Lars Schreiber (RWTH Aachen) and Lieven Vandersypen (TU Delft) are exploring planar gated Si/SiGe heterostrustructures in order to electrostatically define a QuBus. Tristan Meunier (Institut NEEL) and Sylvain Barraud (CEA Leti) are trying to use a 1-dimensional channel on fully depleted silicon on insulator to realize the silicon QuBus. These four experimentally working groups, are supported by two theory groups led by David DiVincenzo (Forschungszentrum Jülich) and Łukasz Cywiński (Institute of Physics, Polish Academy of Sciences). They contribute by modelling the impact on coherent qubit transport due to electric and magnetic disorder, noise and due to crystallographic imperfection. The companies Intel and STMicroelectronis participate indirectly as partners of TU Delft and CEA Leti, respectively.

consortium schematic
Schematic of the consortium showing the 6 partners and their dominant role.

The project Si-QuBus is funded by the QuantERA ERA-Net Cofund in Quantum Technology. It is a European Research ERA Network spanning 26 countries and focus on the field on Quantum Technologies. It is part of the European flagship in Quantum Technology.

group photo
Photo of the last consortium meeting at TU Delft in March 2019.